Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightTripura BJP President...

Tripura BJP President Manik Saha to take place as chief minister

Tripura BJP President Manik Saha to take place as chief minister

After the sudden resignation of Biplab Kumar Deb from the post of Tripura chief minister, state BJP President Manik Saha will swear in as the 12th CM of the northeastern state.

Saha is a close associate of the outgoing CM Deb.

The 69-year-old dental surgeon-turned-politician was elected to the Rajya Sabha on March 31. He was elected as the BJP legislative party leader on Saturday, following which he met Governor Satyadeo Narain Arya and staked a claim to form the government with a letter of support from the party MLAs. He became the President of the Tripura BJP Pradesh Committee in 2021.

Biplab Kumar Deb called a BJP legislative party meeting and announced Saha's name as his replacement. He announced full cooperation with the new Chief Minister. Saha has to be elected to the state Assembly within the next six months.

The sudden resignation of Deb took place after he returned after meeting the central party leaders in Delhi on Saturday. He was seen immediately going to Raj Bhavan to resign from the top post in the state. Deb said he is resigning considering the interest of the party and considering the Assembly elections which are due in January-February 2023.

The state has been witnessing several waves of revolt by dissident BJP MLAs and leaders against Deb since May 2019. He had announced to obtain a public mandate by calling a public meeting. It was later cancelled due to the intervention of the central leaders.

He told the media he tried to perform all responsibilities given by the party with utmost sincerity and honesty. "If the party decides that I will have to work for the organisation, I will do that." He added that he tried to bring justice to the people and undertook developmental and welfare works for the all-around development of Tripura during his tenure as the Chief Minister.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Select A Tag 
Next Story