Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightUP Polls : 9...

UP Polls : 9 candidates in first list released by AIMIM


AIMIM leader Asaduddin Owaisi


On Sunday, the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) announced its first list of candidates for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections.

A list of candidates signed by its UP unit president, Shaukat Ali, was released by the party led by Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi.

AIMIM candidate Furqan Chaudhry is running from Garh Mukteshwar in Hapur district, while Haji Arif will run from Dhaulana in the same district. According to the list, Dr Mahtab will contest from the Loni constituency in Ghaziabad district.

Tasleem Ahmad will be contesting from Kithore, while Rafat Khan is running from Siwal Khas and Zeeshan Alam is running from Saradhana. All three seats are in the Meerut district.

In Siwal Khas, Rafat Khan is fielded by the Hyderabad-based party, as is Zeeshan Alam in Saradhana. Tasleem Ahmad stands in Kithore. All three of these are in Meerut.

In addition to these candidates, Shaheen Raza Khan (Bareilly-124) is in Bareilly district, Amjad Ali (Behat) is in Behat district, and Margoob Hasan is in Saharanpur Dehat district.

It was said in November by AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi that his party would contest 100 of the 403 seats in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly. AIMIM's attempts to form electoral alliances with smaller parties have not so far succeeded.

A total of 58 constituencies are scheduled to vote in the first phase of the Assembly elections on February 10. Elections will take place in seven phases between February 10 and March 7.

Show Full Article
Next Story