Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
When ‘Jai Sree Ram’ becomes a death call
access_time 15 Feb 2024 9:54 AM GMT
Strengthening the Indian Republic
access_time 26 Jan 2024 4:43 AM GMT
When the US and UK fight Houthis
access_time 17 Jan 2024 6:08 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightZPM led by Lalduhoma...

ZPM led by Lalduhoma will lead Mizoram to be sworn in on Friday

ZPM led by Lalduhoma will lead Mizoram to be sworn in on Friday

Aizawl: The Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) government in Mizoram is scheduled to take office this Friday. The Mizo National Front (MNF) was deposed by the ZPM. For the first time, the landlocked state will have a government that is neither MNF nor Congress.

The ZPM convened the party's decision-making body, the Val Upa Council, in Aizawl on Tuesday night. It was planned for all of the party's MLAs to attend. Lalduhoma, a ZPM stalwart and former Indian Police Service officer, is running for chief minister. On Wednesday morning, he is anticipated to meet with Governor Hari Babu Kambhampati to assert his claim to form the government, the New Indian Express reported.

Lalduhoma declared on Tuesday that the state's youth had had enough of the current political system. According to him, they expected a new structure with new principles and leadership. He made disparaging remarks about departing Chief Minister Zoramthanga, asserting that the latter was the only one accountable for the MNF's loss. According to him, women overwhelmingly supported the ZPM in the polls.

“This time, there were more female voters than their male counterparts. We are grateful to them and committed to working for their upliftment,” he said. Zoramthanga, who took moral responsibility for the party's disastrous polling situation, resigned as president of MNF on Tuesday. He handed his letter of resignation to Tawnluia, the senior vice president of the party.

Former insurgent turned politician Zoramthanga held the position of chief minister three times, from 1998 to 2008 and from 2018 to 23. He ran for the Aizawl East-I seat in the elections on November 7 but was defeated by Lalthansanga of ZPM.

Having won 27 of the 40 seats in the state, the ZPM had dominated the elections. With ten seats, the MNF trailed far behind the BJP's two and the Congress's one. The results were announced on Monday.

Show Full Article
Next Story