Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Remembering the Teachers
access_time 5 Sep 2023 6:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightWorldchevron_rightThis year, Nobel Prize...

This year, Nobel Prize in literature will be awarded twice


Stockholm:   This year, two Nobel Prizes in literature will be presented this year after the scandal-hit awarding body was blocked from naming a winner in 2018, news agencies have reported.

The Nobel Foundation banned the Swedish Academy from awarding last year's prize following allegations of sexual misconduct against the husband of one of its board members and accusations of leaks, which effectively paralysed the institution. 

In a press release on Tuesday, the foundation, which executes Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel's will, said that its Board of Directors "believes that the steps that the Swedish Academy has taken and intends to take will create good opportunities for restoring trust in the Academy as a prize-winning institution".

The Nobel Prize in Literature will once again be awarded, and this autumn laureates for both 2018 and 2019 will be announced.

The Nobel Foundation had previously threatened to strip the Swedish Academy of its role in awarding the prize following the scandals, which first emerged in 2017 and resulted in a series of resignations in protest. 

Jean-Claude Arnault, the husband of poet and former academy member Katarina Frostenson, was convicted on two charges of rape in October 2018. Frostenson left the body in January after an inquiry found she had leaked the names of prize winners on multiple occasions, which she denied.

The academy announced in May that the prize would not be awarded in 2018 "in view of the currently diminished Academy and the reduced public confidence in the academy".

It was the first time the prestigious award was not handed out since a suspension in 1943 due to World War II.

In 2018, a one-off "alternate Nobel" called the New Academy Prize in Literature was awarded to Guadeloupean author Maryse Conde in lieu of the Nobel. 

The Swedish Academy is only responsible for awarding the literature prize. Other Swedish academic institutions select the winners of the awards in scientific fields, while a Norwegian committee picks the winner of the Nobel Peace Prize. 

The winners are usually announced in October, with the prizes being presented on the anniversary of Nobel's death on December 10.

Show Full Article
News Summary - This year, Nobel Prize in literature will be awarded twice
Next Story