Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
The virus of double standards
access_time 2021-04-17T12:13:23+05:30
The genocide in West Bengal
access_time 2021-04-13T11:08:29+05:30
A model mosque in Gujarat
access_time 2021-04-12T17:13:34+05:30
Revelations about the Rafale deal
access_time 2021-04-12T11:46:42+05:30
A model mosque in Gujarat
access_time 2021-04-12T17:13:34+05:30
Towards a digital emergency?
access_time 2021-02-27T14:50:41+05:30
The slaughter of democracy in Puducherry
access_time 2021-02-24T11:27:21+05:30
Populist Fascism
access_time 2021-01-31T17:19:29+05:30
Media Freedom
access_time 2021-01-31T15:47:07+05:30
Sharjeel Imam
access_time 2021-01-30T15:19:40+05:30
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightAssembly Speaker to be ...

Assembly Speaker to be elected on Thursday

Assembly Speaker to be elected on Thursday

Thiruvananthapuram: The election to select the Assembly Speaker will be held on Thursday, a notification released by the state government said.

The Assembly will begin the procedure at 9.30 am.

The current Deputy Speaker N Sakthan will be the nominee of the ruling United Democratic Front (UDF) while the LDF has fielded A K Balan for the post of speaker.

The post became vacant after the demise of speaker G. Karthikeyan on Saturday.

Sakthan, 63, is a member of the powerful Nadar community, which has a sizeable population in the capital district.

Sakthan's election to the post is a certainty as, in the 140-member Assembly, the UDF has 74 seats while the Left opposition has 65. One seat is vacant following Karthikeyan's death.

The UDF, however, is yet to take a decision on who should be fielded as the deputy speaker.

Show Full Article
Next Story