Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightAssembly ruckus: Women ...

Assembly ruckus: Women MLAs to file police complaint Monday

Assembly ruckus: Women MLAs to file police complaint Monday

Thiruvananthapuram: Five LDF women MLAs have decided to file a police complaint against ruling front legislators for attacking them during the protests in the Assembly on March 13.

Women MLAs Jameela Prakasam, E S Bijimol, K S Saleekha, K K Lathika and Geetha Gopi will file the complaint on Monday against the UDF legislators for attacking and molesting them during the protests by the Opposition against Finance Minister K M Mani.

The women MLAs on Friday said they decided to approach the police as they were not getting justice from the Speaker.

Earlier, keeping up the pressure on the government, Opposition leader V S Achuthanandan had asked Speaker N Sakthan to forward to police the complaint of LDF women MLAs.

In a letter to the Speaker, the CPI-M veteran said Jameela Prakasam (JD-U) had lodged a complaint with Sakthan in this regard on March 13 itself.

The complaint alleged that UDF MLAs K Sivadasan Nair, Domenic Presentation, A T George and M A Waheed (all Congress) and Labour Minister and RSP leader Shibu Baby John had attacked LDF women MLAs.

As per a Supreme Court judgement, the petition should have been forwarded to police on the same day itself, but the Speaker had not done it.

Terming it as a serious violation of safety laws for women, Achuthanandan said under the present circumstances Jameela Prakasam's petition should be handed over to police.

Show Full Article
Next Story