Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Women and girls need to be safe
access_time 2021-01-15T15:08:45+05:30
Another Trump impeachment
access_time 2021-01-15T11:16:29+05:30
Covid 19 spread
access_time 2021-01-14T15:40:30+05:30
Freezing the Centre or the farmer protest?
access_time 2021-01-14T12:55:08+05:30
DEEP READAll arrow_drop_down
Anti-Conversion Law: A law meant for abuse
access_time 2021-01-12T13:56:35+05:30
Syed Shahriyaar
access_time 2021-01-05T19:08:46+05:30
Reading A week in the life of Svitlana
access_time 2020-12-23T12:06:42+05:30
Hum Dekhenge- One year of Anti-CAA protests
access_time 2020-12-22T17:35:06+05:30
The French Fanatic and the Fanatic Fringe
access_time 2020-11-02T15:56:00+05:30
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightPrakash Karat,...

Prakash Karat, Mammootty front runners for RS seat

Prakash Karat, Mammootty front runners for RS seat

Thiruvananthapuram: CPI-M national general secretary Prakash Karat, his wife Brinda Karat and Mammootty are among the front runners for one of three Rajya Sabha seats from Kerala.

The remaining two will be filled by Congress candidates.

Superstar Mammootty has been with the CPI-M for long, while Brinda Karat was previously a member of the upper house from West Bengal. Her husband and outgoing CPI-M general secretary Prakash Karat are the top contenders for the post.

Two journalists N. Madhavan Kutty, former resident editor of The New Indian Express and now consulting editor of party mouthpiece Deshabhimani, and chief editor of CPI-M backed Kairali TV channel, John Brittas, are also in the race.

The CPI-M has often surprised many with its choice when it comes to naming candidates for Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha seats.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, they surprised all by naming comedian and character Innocent as its candidate for the Chalakudy seat. Innocent went on to defeat veteran Congress leader P.C. Chacko.

The party, which has lost its ground in West Bengal, now has only Kerala to look up to for a nomination to the upper house.

Kutty over the past four years has been a popular face on TV channels in Kerala, defending the official faction of the party led by powerhouse politburo member Pinarayi Vijayan.

Of the nine members in the upper house at the moment, the CPI-M has four - K.N. Balagopal, who rose from a student politician and was the political secretary to V.S. Achuthanandan when he became the chief minister in 2006; T.N. Seema, a college professor who used to have a strong presence in the women's wing of the party; P.Rajeev, who retires next month from the upper house, was the Resident Editor of party mouthpiece when he was selected to the upper house in 2009, and veteran C.P. Narayanan, when selected was the editor of party magazine - Chintha.

"Several names are being discussed. Our party always weighs the pros and cons of the candidates and that's why you find surprises when the final announcement comes," a senior party leader told IANS on condition of anonymity.

Show Full Article
Next Story