Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Why this silence when freedoms are taken away
access_time 2021-02-24T15:29:20+05:30
access_time 2021-03-04T11:13:32+05:30
The struggle to retrieve the kitchen
access_time 2021-03-03T11:31:58+05:30
Disgruntled dissidents and future of Congress
access_time 2021-03-02T11:58:48+05:30
access_time 2021-03-01T15:37:17+05:30
Towards a digital emergency?
access_time 2021-02-27T14:50:41+05:30
Towards a digital emergency?
access_time 2021-02-27T14:50:41+05:30
The slaughter of democracy in Puducherry
access_time 2021-02-24T11:27:21+05:30
Populist Fascism
access_time 2021-01-31T17:19:29+05:30
Media Freedom
access_time 2021-01-31T15:47:07+05:30
Sharjeel Imam
access_time 2021-01-30T15:19:40+05:30
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightCPI-M state...

CPI-M state secretariat approves Vijaykumar’s candidature

CPI-M state secretariat approves Vijaykumar’s candidature

Thiruvananthapuram: The CPI-M state secretariat, which met here Friday, approved the candidature of senior leader and former Speaker M Vijaykumar as the LDF candidate for the June 27 Aruvikara Assembly bypoll.

The district secretariat had earlier decided to field Vijaykumar from the constituency, which is his home town.

"This is a huge responsibility the party has entrusted on me," Vijaykumar told reporters.

The battle is a huge responsibility as the results could have a deep impact on the political scenario of the state, he said. "People are in need of a change and the beginning will be from Aruvikara," he said.

The election was necessitated following the death of former Speaker and Congress leader G Karthikeyan.

Meanwhile, Congress-led UDF is in the process of finalising its candidate, party sources said.

A section in the Congress is keen to field Sulekha, widow of the former Speaker, who had represented the constituency five times in the assembly.

The election is considered to be a crucial litmus test for both the fronts as the Assembly polls are to be held next year.

Presently UDF has 73 members, while LDF has 65 in the 140-member Assembly. Former minister and film actor, K B Ganeshkumar is keeping away from both fronts and one seat of the former speaker is vacant.

Show Full Article
Next Story