Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightRe-poling in 105...

Re-poling in 105 booths in Malappuram, 9 in Thrissur

Re-poling in 105 booths in Malappuram, 9 in Thrissur

Malappuram/Thrissur: The State Election Commission has announced re-polling in 105 booths in Malappuram district and nine booths in Thrissur district where voting was disrupted owing to technical glitches.

The re-polling will take place on Friday, the Election Commission said at a press conference on Thursday.

The Panchayats in Malappuram district that will witness a re-polling include Chelembra, Pandikkad, Vettam, Melattur, Maranchery, Thavanur, Cherukavu, Porur, Karulai, Cheekode, Aliparamba, Niramaruthur and Anakkayam.

In Thrissur, polling will again be conducted in booths in Thiruvilwamala, Pazhayannur, and Arimpur panchayats.

The Election Commission said the technical snag in the electronic voting machines (EVMs) in as many as 255 polling booths was an unusual incident and a decision on the type of investigation into the matter would be taken later.

Voting was disrupted after voting machines developed technical snags in several polling stations in Malappuram and Thrissur districts on Thursday.

The EVMs developed problems and voting was stopped in around 300 polling booths in parts of the districts.

In some booths, electronic voting machines (EVMs) were found deliberately damaged with cello tapes and paper stuffed inside them.

Show Full Article
Next Story