Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightA K Antony set for...

A K Antony set for renomination to Rajya Sabha

A K Antony set for renomination to Rajya Sabha

Thiruvananthapuram: With the notification to elect three new Rajya Sabha members from Kerala ready, former defence minister A.K. Antony is all set to get another six-year term in the upper house.

Chief Minister Oommen Chandy had told reporters after a state cabinet meeting on Thursday that of the three seats to fall vacant in April, the Congress will take one seat while one will go to Janata Dal-United.

Of the three seats, one is held by Antony and the other two by CPI-M leaders K.N. Balagopal and T.N. Seema.

JD-U supremo M.P. Veerendra Kumar expressed happiness over the ruling United Democratic Front's decision to give one seat to his party.

"Our parliamentary party will now decide the candidate," said Kumar who is all set to get nominated by his party to contest the seat.

The CPI-M-led LDF will win one seat and, in all probability, this will go to the party's politburo member and sitting legislator M.A. Baby, who has served two terms in the upper house.

Show Full Article
Next Story