Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightKunnathur MLA Kovoor...

Kunnathur MLA Kovoor Kunjumon resigns from Assembly

Kunnathur MLA Kovoor Kunjumon resigns from Assembly

Thiruvananthapuram: In a setback to Congress-led United Democratic Front government in Kerala, RSP MLA Kovoor Kunjumon Thursday resigned his assembly membership, saying he did not want to continue as part of ruling alliance which, he alleged, is "neck deep in corruption."

Kunjumon, a three-time MLA who represented Kunnathur constituency in the state Assembly, said he tendered his resignation as MLA to Speaker N Saktan.

Announcing the resignation, he told reporters here that he did not want to continue as part of UDF which is "neck deep in corruption."

A member of RSP s central committee, he said he was also leaving the party also and will soon form 'real RSP'.

When contacted, the Speaker's office said when an MLA submits a resignation letter directly, the procedure is to accept it.

There were differences between Kunjumon and the party's state leadership after RSP, which was with CPI(M)-led LDF Opposition, merged with a faction of RSP (B) in UDF.

RSP had snapped its ties with LDF in Kerala following dispute over denying Kollam parliamentary seat to senior leader N K Premachandran M P in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

Later, Premachandran contested as UDF candidate and won the seat.

Though Kunjumon wanted the party to go back to CPI-M fold, the state leadership did not support his stand.

His resignation, just a few months ahead of state Assembly polls, is not likely to affect the stability of the UDF government which has a wafer thin majority in the assembly.

Kunjumon is the second MLA to resign in recent months after former government chief whip and Kerala Congress Secular leader P C George resigned following differences with the party leadership.

The total strength of the state Assembly is 140 elected members and one nominated Anglo-Indian member. With the resignation of Kunjumon and George, the strength would come down to 138.

Ruling UDF now has the strenth of 72.

LDF has 66, including the support of Kerala Congress (B) leader K B Ganesh Kumar MLA who left UDF few months ago.

Show Full Article
Next Story