Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Womens Day: Building a digitally equal world
access_time 8 March 2023 4:38 AM GMT
Women must arise now and embrace equity
access_time 7 March 2023 10:52 AM GMT
The criminal case against Vladimir Putin
access_time 27 Feb 2023 9:46 AM GMT
Censorship that stifles free speech
access_time 24 Feb 2023 7:02 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightCPI’s V Sasi elected...

CPI’s V Sasi elected Deputy Speaker

CPI’s V Sasi elected Deputy Speaker

Thiruvananthapuram: CPI leader V Sasi has been elected the Deputy Speaker of the 14th Kera;a Legislative Assembly.

MLA from Chirayinkeezh constituency, Sasi bagged 90 votes against UDF’s IC Balakrishnan’s 45 votes after voting took place Wednesday morning on the floor of the House.

Speaker P Sreeramakrishnan did not vote. Although Anglo-Indian representative John Fernandez and Independent member PC George also cast their votes, George wasted his vote on purpose in a pattern that he demonstrated earlier during the election of the Speaker.

Lone BJP member O. Rajagopal did not present himself for the vote.

Two other legislators from the Opposition and one from the ruling LDF also did not vote due to various reasons.

The ruling front has a strength of 92 in the 140-strong Assembly while the Opposition has 47.

Show Full Article
Next Story