Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
It doesnt end with Rahul hounding
access_time 25 March 2023 4:20 AM GMT
20 years after the Iraq war
access_time 24 March 2023 8:50 AM GMT
Are  Khalistanists returning?
access_time 22 March 2023 5:12 AM GMT
Trading votes for higher rubber price?
access_time 21 March 2023 5:26 AM GMT
Unmuting democracy
access_time 20 March 2023 6:21 AM GMT
Womens Day: Building a digitally equal world
access_time 8 March 2023 4:38 AM GMT
Women must arise now and embrace equity
access_time 7 March 2023 10:52 AM GMT
The criminal case against Vladimir Putin
access_time 27 Feb 2023 9:46 AM GMT
Censorship that stifles free speech
access_time 24 Feb 2023 7:02 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightP Sreeramakrishnan...

P Sreeramakrishnan elected Assembly Speaker

P Sreeramakrishnan elected Assembly Speaker

Thiruvananthapuram: Ponnani MLA P Sreeramakrishnan has been elected Speaker of the 14th Assembly.

In the polling held Friday morning, Sreeramakrishnan polled 92 votes against 46 of UDF candidate V.P. Sajeendran in a House of 140 members with the LDF having a declared strength of 91 against 47 of the Opposition.

In a surprising development, the CPI-M leader polled two additional votes even as Sajeendran secured one vote less.

Pro tem Speaker S Sarma did not vote while the vote of Independent PC George was invalidated due to technical reasons. That left only 138 valid votes which were polled through secret ballot.

The voting pattern suggests the lone BJP member, O. Rajagopal, may have voted for the LDF.

The UDF had earlier declared that they did not want the votes of the BJP. "We do not want either the vote of the lone BJP MLA O Rajagopal or that of P C George, who had contested as independent candidate in the May 16 Assembly polls,” Opposition leader Ramesh Chennithala had said, adding, “the UDF will function as a strong opposition both inside and outside the Assembly."

Show Full Article
Next Story