Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Womens Day: Building a digitally equal world
access_time 8 March 2023 4:38 AM GMT
Women must arise now and embrace equity
access_time 7 March 2023 10:52 AM GMT
The criminal case against Vladimir Putin
access_time 27 Feb 2023 9:46 AM GMT
Censorship that stifles free speech
access_time 24 Feb 2023 7:02 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightCongress panel meeting...

Congress panel meeting in Delhi to decide on candidates for Assembly election

Congress panel meeting in Delhi to decide on candidates for Assembly election

New Delhi: The AICC screening committee has convened a meeting on Monday evening to take a decision on its candidates for the coming Assembly election in Kerala.

The panel will submit its final list of candidates to the Congress high command after scrutinising the list prepared by the Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC).

Mallikarjun Kharge, Mukul Wasnik, Ajay Makken, Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, Home Minister Ramesh Chennithala, KPCC president V.M Sudheeran, K. Muraleedharan, Minister Aryadan Muhammed and Kodikunnil Suresh will be attending the meeting.

The Kerala unit of the Congress party has prepared its list of candidates for the May 16 assembly elections for approval by the party high command with all 38 sitting legislators fielded.

Out of the 82 constituencies, four have just one candidate - Puthupally (Chief Minister Oommen Chandy), Haripad (Home Minister Ramesh Chennithala), Aruvikara (K.S.Sabarinath) and Mananthavady (Scheduled Tribes Welfare Minister P.K.Jayalekshmi) while in the others, there are more than one name.

"The final selection depending on the guidelines of the high command would decide who will contest where," state Congress president V.M.Sudheeran told reporters at the party headquarters on Saturday.

Show Full Article
Next Story