Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightKPCC submits...

KPCC submits preliminary list of candidates to AICC

KPCC submits preliminary list of candidates to AICC

Thiruvananthapuram: Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) Tuesday submitted a jumbo list containing names of probable candidates of the party for the May 16 assembly elections in the state to All India Congress Committee (AICC).

The preliminary list has names of four to seven candidates for each constituency where the party is to contest.

Kerala assembly has 140 seats and the Congress, heading the United Democratic Front, had in 2011 contested 80 of them.

Talks on sharing of seats among the UDF partners for the coming polls is yet to be concluded with one round having been held so far.

However, for Puthupally and Haripad, where Chief Minister Oommen Chandy and Home Minister Ramesh Chennithala are likely to contest, no other aspirant name has been proposed, party sources said here.

The name of KPCC President V M Sudheeran did not figure in the list and a decision on his candidature would be taken by the AICC after discussion with the state Party poll panel comprising Chandy, Chennithala and Sudheeran, they said.

Enough representation had been given to women in the list, the sources said adding a final decision on candidates is expected by the end of this month.

Meanwhile, BJP Tuesday formally commenced seat sharing talks with Bharath Dharam Jana Sena, a new party formed by Sree Narayana Dharma Paripalana (SNDP) Yogam, a powerful organisation of backward Ezhava community, led by its General Secretary Vellappally Natesan, party sources said.

Show Full Article
Next Story