Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Netanyahus castle cumbling
access_time 31 March 2023 6:31 AM GMT
Israel protests
access_time 31 March 2023 5:15 AM GMT
Congress protest
access_time 30 March 2023 4:30 AM GMT
After a century of Vaikom Satyagraha
access_time 29 March 2023 6:25 AM GMT
The new India of exclusion
access_time 28 March 2023 5:08 AM GMT
Netanyahus castle cumbling
access_time 31 March 2023 6:31 AM GMT
Womens Day: Building a digitally equal world
access_time 8 March 2023 4:38 AM GMT
Women must arise now and embrace equity
access_time 7 March 2023 10:52 AM GMT
The criminal case against Vladimir Putin
access_time 27 Feb 2023 9:46 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightChandy makes history,...

Chandy makes history, hopes to win polls

Chandy makes history, hopes to win polls

Thiruvananthapuram: Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, sworn in on this day five years ago, on Wednesday completed 1,827 days in office -- a record for a five-year term in the state.

And speaking a day before votes polled in the assembly elections are counted, the Congress veteran reiterated that exit polls predicting his ouster would be proved wrong and he would retain power.

Chandy becomes the first chief minister in Kerala to occupy the top seat for the most number of days at one stretch.

His predecessor and Marxist leader V.S. Achuthanandan was chief minister for 1,822 days.

Chandy told IANS that he was confident that the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) would get a renewed mandate.

"The total number of women voters is in excess of one million more than male voters. This is going to be hugely positive for us," he said.

"We are expecting a close fight in around a dozen constituencies where the margin (of victory or defeat) would be less than 1,000 votes, and here the postal votes will be decisive.

"We are quite confident that we will retain power," he said.

At least four chief ministers have occupied the office for more than 1,827 days over more than one five-year term: C. Achutha Menon, K. Karunakaran, A.K. Antony and E.K. Nayanar.

Show Full Article
Next Story