Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_right55% voting till 4 p.m....

55% voting till 4 p.m. in Malappuarm bypoll

55% voting till 4 p.m. in Malappuarm bypoll

Malappuram: About 55 per cent polling was recorded till 4 p.m. in the Malappuram Loksabha constituency bypoll that began at 7 a.m on Wednesday.

No disruptions were reported from any place as 3,000 security personnel including paramilitary forces were deployed to oversee the smooth conduct of the by-election.

The election was called after the death of Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) leader E. Ahamed.

The IUML has fielded former Industries Minister P.K. Kunhalikutty, a sitting legislator and one of the most popular faces of the party.

The Communist Party of India-Marxist has fielded local body member and youth leader M.B. Faizal and the Bharatiya Janata Party has brought in Sreeprakash.

Soon after casting vote Kunhalikutty said the party's victory margin was set to go up.

Faizal said the response from the electorate was positive and they expected secularism to turn out to be victorious.

Sree Prakash said the BJP had constructed roads in the constituency and broken several barriers that prevailed in Malappuram.

Malappuram district is the citadel of the IUML and Ahamed won the 2014 polls with a record margin of 1.94 lakh votes.

But during the 2016 assembly elections the margin of the IUML legislators, who won in the seven assembly constituencies that make up this Loksabha seat, came down to 1.18 lakh votes.

Show Full Article
Next Story