Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Suicides of entrance aspirants in Kota
access_time 30 Sep 2023 5:47 AM GMT
Green memory of Dr Swaminathan
access_time 29 Sep 2023 11:59 AM GMT
One more (anti-)Kerala fake story misfires
access_time 28 Sep 2023 4:04 AM GMT
Will Yogi set store by the Supreme Court?
access_time 27 Sep 2023 5:08 AM GMT
The silent whimper of advasis
access_time 26 Sep 2023 4:31 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Remembering the Teachers
access_time 5 Sep 2023 6:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightDYFI leader M B Faizal...

DYFI leader M B Faizal is LDF candidate in Malappuram

DYFI leader M B Faizal is LDF candidate in Malappuram

Malappuram: The ruling CPI(M)-led LDF in the State Saturday announced DYFI leader M B Faizal as its candidate for the byelection to the Malappuram Lok Sabha seat, setting the stage for a triangular contest.

Party state secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan announced the candidate for the April 12 bypoll after the district committee meeting here.

Faizal is the state committee member of CPI(M)'s youth wing, Democratic Youth Federation of India, said the party.

The LDF would meet on March 20 and the party would form election committees next week, Balakrishnan told reporters.

Indian Union Muslim League general secretary P K Kunhalikutty is the Congress-led UDF opposition's candidate while the BJP has fielded N Sreeprakash in Malappuram.

The bypoll was necessitated following the death of IUML leader and former union minister E Ahmed.

Seventy eight-year-old Ahmed, who passed away on February 1 following cardiac arrest, had won the seat with a margin of over 1.90 lakh votes against his nearest rival in the 2014 polls.

Kunhalikutty is now the member of the Kerala assembly from Vengara and Sreeprakash is the district vice-president of the BJP.

Show Full Article
Next Story