Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Amid India-Canada diplomatic row
access_time 22 Sep 2023 4:00 AM GMT
K Radhakrishnan
access_time 21 Sep 2023 4:00 AM GMT
Womens quota in legislatures
access_time 20 Sep 2023 5:24 AM GMT
Extended Congress CWC meet raises hopes
access_time 19 Sep 2023 5:11 AM GMT
The saboteurs in the market of hate
access_time 18 Sep 2023 9:47 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Remembering the Teachers
access_time 5 Sep 2023 6:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightBypoll to Malappuram...

Bypoll to Malappuram Lok Sabha seat on April 12, counting on 17

Bypoll to Malappuram Lok Sabha seat on April 12, counting on 17

Kozhikode: The bypoll to the Malappuram Lok Sabha seat will be held on April 12, a release from the Election Commission said. The counting will take place on April 17.

The by-election was necessitated by the death of Muslim League leader E Ahamed, who represented the constituency in the Lok Sabha.

Nominations can be submitted till March 23 while March 27 is the last date to withdraw the nomination.

As per reports, Muslim League leader P K Kunhalikutty is likely to contest as the UDF candidate in Malappuram.

Bypolls to two other Lok Sabha seats and 12 Assembly seats will also be held in April to fill up vacancies in the electoral college months ahead of the election for the President's office due later this year.

The term of President Pranab Mukherjee is coming to an end on July 24.

The other vacant Lok Sabha seats are Anantnag and Srinagar in Jammu and Kashmir. While Amritsar seat in Punjab was also vacant, the bypoll was held along with the Punjab Assembly polls on February 4.

Show Full Article
Next Story