Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Remembering the Teachers
access_time 5 Sep 2023 6:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightCity gas project...

City gas project launch ceremony to begin on Nov 22

City gas project launch ceremony to begin on Nov 22

Kochi: Work on city gas distribution network in Thrissur, Palakkad, Malappuram, Kozhikode, Wayanad, Kannur, and Kasaragod districts and the Union territory of Mahe will commence on November 22.

The 1,200-crore project is being implemented by Indian Oil-Adani Gas Private Limited. The project is expected to be completed in eight years, said P.S. Mony, chief general manager and Kerala head of Indian Oil Corporation (IOC), here.

The project will be launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Delhi along with other similar projects in other parts of the country.

City gas distribution work in Ernakulam district is progressing except in the Kochi Corporation area.

A total of 30,000 piped gas connections have been provided to households by the IOC-Adani group joint venture. The target is 40,700 household connections.

Mony is of the opinion that the expansion of the city gas supply network would not reduce the demand for LPG in Kerala. “LPG demand here is likely to go up to 2.5 million tonnes in 2028 against the current demand for 1.1 lakh tonnes.”

When completed, the project in northern districts and Mahe will provide piped natural gas to 17,26,871 households and help establish 596 compressed natural gas stations.

The project will generate 9,500 direct employment opportunities for skilled, semi-skilled and unskilled people.

Piped network for natural gas for households and compressed gas for automobiles will be expanded further in the State with the 10th round of bidding, likely to be completed in February 2019.

Thiruvananthapuram, Alappuzha and Pathanamthitta districts have already been selected for the 10th round of bidding. This will bring all districts, except Idukki and Kottayam, within the network.

Show Full Article
Next Story