Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Two mind-sets: one here,  the other there
access_time 2021-01-20T13:57:46+05:30
What is Halal? Market strategies and controversy
access_time 2021-01-19T15:54:19+05:30
Arnabs chats cannot be ignored
access_time 2021-01-18T11:33:12+05:30
Women and girls need to be safe
access_time 2021-01-15T15:08:45+05:30
DEEP READAll arrow_drop_down
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_right243 in fray for...

243 in fray for Kerala's 20 LS seats, 22 in Wayanad

243 in fray for Keralas 20 LS seats, 22 in Wayanad

Thiruvananthapuram: A total of 243 candidates are in the fray in Kerala's 20 Lok Sabha constituencies, with Wayanad, from where Congress President Rahul Gandhi is contesting too, topping the list with 22.

In all, 303 candidates had filed their nominations but 60 were rejected during scrutiny.

The final list was released on Saturday after candidature of solar scam accused Saritha Nair, who had filed her nominations from the Wayanad and Ernakulam Lok Sabha constituencies, was rejected as she failed to submit certain documents required to be produced before 10.30 a.m.

Wayanad has a record 22 candidates in the fray while Kottayam and Alathur (SC) have the least at seven each. Attingal has the second highest number of candidates (21), followed by Thiruvananthapuram (17).

Polling in all seats will be held in the third phase of the seven-phase Lok Sabha elections on April 23.

In the outgoing Lok Sabha, the Congress-led United Democratic Front had 12 seats and the ruling Left Democratic Front the remaining eight.

Show Full Article
Web Title - 243 in fray for Kerala's 20 LS seats, 22 in Wayanad
Next Story