Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightTK Hamza tipped to be...

TK Hamza tipped to be Waqf Board Chairman

TK Hamza tipped to be Waqf Board Chairman

Kozhikode: Veteran CPM leader and former minister, TK Hamza will become Waqf Board Chairman. Out of the ten members, four members will be inducted via election from different spheres and another four as government nominees.

The election of the six members is over.  The government nominees will be declared in the coming days. The government moves to name Hamza as the chairman after nominating him in the category of social worker. Though PTA Raheem MLA was considered for the position, he withdrew fearing the issues that may arise from an MLA becoming the chairman.

An MP, two MLAs, a Bar Council member and two Waqf Muthawallis (office bearers of Waqf institutions) are to be elected. Rajya Sabha member PV Abdul Wahab from MPs and Adv. P. Sharafuddin from Bar Council members were selected unopposed.

However, strong contest was witnessed in the election in MLA and Muthawalli categories. PTA Raheem, P. Ubaidullah and VK Ebrahim Kunju got equal votes in MLA category. VK Ebrahim Kunju was ousted through a draw. Of 32 Muslim MLAs in Kerala Legislative Assembly, 30 had votes. KM Shaji and Karat Razaq were stripped of voting rights as they face disqualification by a high court order.

Under Muthawalli category, MC Mayin Haji and PV Zainuddin, cadidates of official Samastha Sunni bodies, were elected. They were also supported by Dakshin Kerala Jammiyathul Ulema, Jamaat-e-Islami, Mujahid organisations and others.  They won a majority of more than 450 votes against Prof. KMA Raheem, who was a candidate of Sunni Kanthapuram faction.

Out of the four nominated by the government, two should be scholars with erudition in Sunni,  Shia jurisprudence. One should be a social worker and other should be a government officer with a rank not lower than assistant secretary. 

As the law stipulates that two of the ten members should be women, out of the four government nominees, two will be women. One of the two to be nominated by the government under scholars’ category will be from Sunni Kanthapuram faction. It is learnt that the woman representation shall be filled by INL.

Out of the ten members in the new board, there will be six with loyalty to the government. If Ebrahim Kunju had won by lot, the board would have  had 10 members with five each from the government and the opposition. This would have resulted in a crisis in both the chairman election and running the board.

Show Full Article
News Summary - TK Hamza tipped to be Waqf Board Chairman
Next Story