Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightSeven districts to...

Seven districts to have waste treatment plant to generate power


Representative image of a waste-to-energy plant


Thiruvananthapuram:   Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan,  at a meeting of related officials,   reviewed the progress of setting up waste treatment plants that will generate power,   in seven districts of the state  The districts where energy generating plants using state-of-the-art technology are Thiruvananthapuram,  Kollam,  Thrissur,  Palakkad, Malappuram, Kozhikode and Kannur.

The land required for these have been identified. In Kozhikode the steps to set up the plant are in their final stage.

The chief minister directed that a time-bound plan is made to set up the plants.  The meeting was attended by minister AC Mooideen,  Chef Secretary Tom Jose and Local self government Chief Secretary TK Jose.

Later,  while inaugurating a seminar of the Pollution Control Board,  the chief minister said that together with this,  centralized waste treatment scheme will also be launched.   It is a great concept that those who manufacture products have also the responsibility to treat them after use.  In the packaging of products,  several materials including plastic and metal are used and these can be procured back by the producers themselves and recycled.   Wherever that is not feasible,  it is their responsibility to bear the cost of waste treatment.  As of now,  it is the consumers who are forced to bear this,  the chief minister pointed out.

Mayor VK Prashant,  Chief Secretary Tom Jose, Additional Chief Secretary TK Jose,  Environment Department Principal Secretary Usha Titus and Chairman of  Pollution Control Board Ajith Haridas also addressed the seminar.

Show Full Article
News Summary - Seven districts to have waste treatment plant to generate power
Next Story