Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightInflight on in BJP...

Inflight on in BJP over Pathanamthitta seat


New Delhi: BJP leadership is as yet unable to choose any candidate for Pathanamthitta constituency.

Sources say that BJP state chief P S Sreedharan Pillai and the union minister Alphons Kannanthanam are lobbying for the seat. Their tug of war, camping in Delhi, has broken all bounds of discipline in the party.

Meanwhile, campaigning for BJP’s more youthful face K Surendran spilled over to the Facebook post of BJP chief Amit Shah, after the leader posted a condolence message to Manohar Parrikar.  

However, the party workers’ campaigning for K Surendran, who chose not to accept the list submitted by P S Sreedharan Pillai including himself as a candidate, drew flakes.

Comments demanding K Suredran as a candidate either from Pathanamthitta or Thrissur flooded just below Amit Shah’s Facebook post, paying homage to the deceased Goan leader.  Most comments began with paying homage to Manohar Parikar went on to rooting for Surendran.

Declining the party’s offer of Attingal constituency in favour of either Pathanamthitta or Thrissur, K Suredran may choose not to contest in case of being denied either seat.

After the centre leadership took note of the FB campaigning, PS Sreedharan Pillai said that the party workers were not behind it.

Pitching for his candidacy, PS Sreedharan Pillai tried to convince the Centre leadership that he was the architect of Sabarimala agitation started in October last year.

Also, his leadership helped it not spiraling into violence; the agitation was called off for the benefit of the party in Kerala, Pillai reportedly argued.

 Highlighting the support extended by Orthodox Church in Pathanamthitta, he claimed that without him in the fray the support wouldn’t be there.

Meanwhile, Alphons Kannanthanam chose not to contest from anywhere except in Pathanamthitta.

Show Full Article
News Summary - Inflight on in BJP over Pathanamthitta seat
Next Story