Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Amid India-Canada diplomatic row
access_time 22 Sep 2023 4:00 AM GMT
K Radhakrishnan
access_time 21 Sep 2023 4:00 AM GMT
Womens quota in legislatures
access_time 20 Sep 2023 5:24 AM GMT
Extended Congress CWC meet raises hopes
access_time 19 Sep 2023 5:11 AM GMT
The saboteurs in the market of hate
access_time 18 Sep 2023 9:47 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Remembering the Teachers
access_time 5 Sep 2023 6:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightCPI to field two...

CPI to field two sitting MLAs in Lok Sabha polls

CPI to field two sitting MLAs in Lok Sabha polls

Thiruvananthapuram: The CPI's Kerala unit sprang a surprise here on Monday by recommending four names for the Lok Sabha seats the party contests and dropping the sitting MP.

C.N. Jayadevan who won Thrissur Lok Sabha seat in 2014 has been dropped and the names of two sitting legislators -- C. Divakaran (Thiruvananthapuram) and Chittayam Gopakumar (Mavelikera) -- have been added to the list.

Rajaji Mathew Thomas, a former legislator, has been asked to contest from Thrissur and P.P. Suneer the Wayanad seat.

Speaking to the media, Divakaran, a former State Minister, said the state council has cleared his name and now the national executive will take a decision. "If it's cleared then I will contest and win," said Divakaran.

Incidentally, Divakaran will be taking on two-time Congress Lok Sabha member Shashi Tharoor.

The national executive will meet in Delhi on Wednesday and Thursday to take a final decision, said Thomas.

The CPI is the second biggest ally of the ruling left government in Kerala.

Show Full Article
News Summary - CPI to field two sitting MLAs in Lok Sabha polls
Next Story