Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Green memory of Dr Swaminathan
access_time 29 Sep 2023 11:59 AM GMT
One more (anti-)Kerala fake story misfires
access_time 28 Sep 2023 4:04 AM GMT
Will Yogi set store by the Supreme Court?
access_time 27 Sep 2023 5:08 AM GMT
The silent whimper of advasis
access_time 26 Sep 2023 4:31 AM GMT
The new Parliament
access_time 25 Sep 2023 11:49 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Remembering the Teachers
access_time 5 Sep 2023 6:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightUnyielding BDJS turns...

Unyielding BDJS turns hassle to BJP; Thushar may contest


Thiruvananthapuram: BDJS' relentless demand for five LS seats in upcoming election is proving a challenge to BJP's prospects. Earlier BDJS had claimed eight seats which BJP leadership responded with offer of four seats.

Even for conceding four seats, BJP leadership was internally criticised. It was in the midst of this conundrum that BDJS president Thushar Vellapally declared that the party will contest in five seats. An understanding was made to give Ernakulam, Alathur, Idukki and Wayanad seats to BDJS. Now BDJS has raised a demand for Alappuzha or Thrissur besides the four seats.

However, BJP feels that Alappuzha seat may be given if Thushar Vellapally is contesting and in return a seat may be retrieved from them.  BJP national leadership also wants Thushar Vellapally to contest.

Thushar, who had been declining to contest, has reportedly shifted his position after the BDJS executive committee wanted him to contest.

State vice-president Paili Vadhyattu is being considered for Wayanad seat and K. Gopakumar and Sangitha Vishwanath, secretaries of the party, are considered for Ernakulam seat. State vice-president K. Padmakumar is prioritised for Idukki seat.  General Secretary TV Babu is being considered for Alathur.

The party may announce its candidates within a week.

Show Full Article
News Summary - Unyielding BDJS turns hassle to BJP; Thushar may contest
Next Story