Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Making democracy invisible
access_time 24 Sep 2020 6:43 AM GMT
Points to ponder before the Al-Qaeda hunt
access_time 22 Sep 2020 6:25 AM GMT
Farmer rage and Opposition parties
access_time 19 Sep 2020 6:51 AM GMT
access_time 19 Sep 2020 3:50 AM GMT
DEEP READAll arrow_drop_down
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightIUML fields 2 sitting...

IUML fields 2 sitting Lok Sabha members

IUML fields 2 sitting Lok Sabha members

Malappuram: The Indian Union Muslim League (IUML), the second biggest ally of the Congress-led United Democratic Front government in Kerala, on Saturday announced its decision to field sitting MPs from two seats for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

IUML supremo Hyderali Shihab Thangal told the media here that P.K. Kunhalikutty will contest from the Malappuram seat and E.T. Mohammed Basheer from the Ponnani seat.

Kunhalikutty, a former state minister, contested from Malappuram following the sudden demise of sitting member E. Ahamed in 2017. He won a huge victory then, and this time is facing young Communist Party of India-Marxist candidate and All India Students' Federation of India President V.P. Sanu, who is having his first outing in an election.

Basheer, also a former state minister, had won from Ponnani in 2009 and 2014. This time he is pitted against Left-supported Independent candidate P.V. Anwar, a sitting legislator.

Show Full Article
Next Story