Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightKeralachevron_rightVJ James wins Vayalar...

VJ James wins Vayalar Award for his novel 'Nireeswaran'


Thiruvananthapuram: VJ James has won this year's Vayalar Rama Varma Literary Award for the novel 'Nireeshwaran'. A jury headed by writer Perumbadavam Sreedharan announced the award here on Saturday. The award comprises of a Rs. 1 lakh, a sculpture designed by Kanayi Kunhiraman and a felicitation letter.

VJ James is author of seven novels and five short story collections. His works include 'Purappadinte Pusthakam', 'Chorashasthram', 'Leyka', 'ottakkaalan Kakka' and 'Anticlock'.

Many honours including Malayattoor Prize, Basheer Award, Thoppil Ravi Award, Thikkurissi Award and OV Vijayan Memorial Literary Award were conferred to him before.

Meanwhile, writer and orator MK Sanoo kicked up a row by a resigning from the presidentship of the Vayalar award committee. Sanoo, a prominent literary critic, stepped out of the post protesting alleging rigging in the selection process for award. The writer said that there was external pressure to choose an undeserving work for the award. As he stepped out, Perumbadavam Sreedharan was made president of the committee.

Show Full Article
News Summary - VJ James wins Vayalar Award for his novel 'Nireeswaran'
Next Story