Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
The path to Ram Rajya
access_time 2021-06-16T12:03:55+05:30
Change of guard in Israel
access_time 2021-06-15T13:00:30+05:30
Unconstitutional, anti-people law
access_time 2021-06-14T13:40:30+05:30
Gimmicks wont do to support farmers
access_time 2021-06-11T11:07:22+05:30
Citizenship questions at the doorstep
access_time 2021-06-13T22:58:07+05:30
Why Eid celebration is so important to Muslims
access_time 2021-05-13T12:57:08+05:30
Who can save Congress from redundancy?
access_time 2021-05-10T13:19:13+05:30
Iran and the revival of JCPOA
access_time 2021-04-23T13:21:09+05:30
Pinarayi Vijayan sworn in as Keralas CM for 2nd term; See his profile video
Homechevron_rightMultimediachevron_rightVideoschevron_rightPinarayi Vijayan sworn ...

Pinarayi Vijayan sworn in as Kerala's CM for 2nd term; See his profile video


Today, Pinarayi Vijayan was sworn in as Kerala's Chief Minister for his second term. He is Kerala's first CM, in the last four decades to be re-elected after completing five years in office.

Born on May 24, 1945, in Pinarayi village of Kannur district,Vijayan was the youngest son of Koran and Kalyani. He graduated in Economics from Government Brennen College in Thalassery, Kannur, which is known as Kerala's red bastion.

Vijayan is married to Kamala, who is a retired teacher and the couple has two children, Vivek Kiran and T Veena. He started his political career with the students' wing of the Communist Party.

In 1968, at just 23, Vijayan was appointed as district committee member of Kannur, which is the stronghold of CPIM in Kerala . He contested for assembly election from Kannur's Koothuparamba constituency in 1970 for the first time on CPIM ticket and won.

He was the youngest legislator in the Assembly when he won the first time in 1970. In 1996, he became Minister for power in the EK Nayanar government..

He was appointed as CPI (M) state general secretary in 1998. Vijayan was booked by CBI in the connection with SNC-Lavalin case when he was the Minister of Electricity during 1996-97.

In 2013, CBI acquitted him of all charges, paving the way for his re-entry into electoral politics. In 2016, after winning from Dharmadom constituency, Vijayan was sworn in as the 12th CM of Kerala. Now his second term in 2021 has earned him the distinction of the first CM in four decades to be re-elected after completing five years in office.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Pinarayi Vijayan Kerala CM Left government Kerala Pinarayi2 
Next Story