Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightM. Thambidurai elected ...

M. Thambidurai elected LS deputy speaker

M. Thambidurai elected LS deputy speaker

New Delhi: AIADMK leader M. Thambidurai was Wednesday unanimously elected as the deputy speaker of the Lok Sabha.

The motion for his election was moved by Home Minister Rajnath Singh and seconded by External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj.

Almost all parties moved motions for his election, including the Congress.

Congratulating Thambidurai, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said: "He is an academician, activist and an agriculturist too. I assure the government will give complete cooperation to you."

Thambidurai filed his nomination for the post Tuesday.

The AIADMK has 37 MPs in the lower house of parliament and is the third largest party after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress.

Show Full Article
Next Story