Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightBJP tried to make me...

BJP tried to make me Delhi Chief Minister: Kumar Vishwas

BJP tried to make me Delhi Chief Minister: Kumar Vishwas

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party leader Kumar Vishwas has said that BJP offered him Delhi's chief ministership, with the promise the party and 12 AAP MLAs who did not want elections were willing to support him.

Vishwas' claim has added more sensation to the ongoing political drama over Delhi government formation. Reports say that a first-time BJP MP from Delhi called on Vishwas at his Ghaziabad residence on the night of May 19, three days after the results to the Lok Sabha elections were declared, offering him BJP's support and the Delhi chief minister's post.

He also claimed that 12 AAP MLAs, who did not want reelection, were willing to support the proposal," Vishwas said. "I was told that if I agreed, then he could immediately take me to Ashoka Hotel to meet the right people to carry this proposal forward. I turned down the offer," Vishwas said adding that he reported the matter immediately to his party.

He refused to name the MP, citing "personal relations" with the person but said that the legislator was from Delhi. BJP rubbished Vishwas' claim. "Why is he talking about this right now?" said BJP national secretary and Delhi MLA RP Singh.

Vishwas fought the Lok Sabha elections as the AAP candidate from Amethi and faced an embarrassing defeat. The Constitution allows an unelected person to be become the chief minister of a state provided he or she fulfils the stipulation of getting elected within six months of swearing in.

Delhi has been under President's rule since Kejriwal resigned as chief minister in February after spending just 49 days in power. Since then, parties have been making charges of horse-trading and speaking in two voices on re-elections.

AAP has filed a petition in the Supreme Court, seeking dissolution of the assembly. The apex court had on August 5 asked the Centre and Delhi Lieutenant Governor Najeeb Jung to resolve the deadlock in five weeks.

In an assembly of 70 legislators, AAP has 27 MLAs and BJP 28. BJP had won 31 seats in Delhi elections last year, but with three MLAs resigning, following their election to the Lok Sabha, its tally has come down to 28.

Show Full Article
Next Story