Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
From Hindustani State to Hindu State
access_time 2022-01-17T11:36:18+05:30
The ideological bankruptcy of  Hindutva politics
access_time 2022-01-18T09:41:23+05:30
K-Rail: Speed is fine,  but not over-speed
access_time 2022-01-17T09:30:38+05:30
Hema Commssion
access_time 2022-01-18T16:45:59+05:30
Justice hanging in single line
access_time 2022-01-15T10:54:47+05:30
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightJustice H.L. Dattu...

Justice H.L. Dattu sworn in Chief Justice of India

Justice H.L. Dattu sworn in Chief Justice of India

New Delhi: Justice H.L. Dattu was Sunday sworn-in as the Chief Justice of India. He was administered the oath of office by President Pranab Mukherjee.

He is the 42nd Chief Justice of India and will be at the helms of the Indian judiciary till December 2, 2015. He succeeds Chief Justice R.M. Lodha who demitted office Sep 27.

The oath ceremony held in Darbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan was attended by Vice President Hamid Ansari, former deputy prime minister L.K. Advani, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Urban Development Minister Venkaiah Naidu, outgoing Chief Justice R.M. Lodha and Justice A.S. Anand as well as other seating and retired judges.

Before being elevated as the judge of the apex court Dec 17, 2008, Chief Justice Dattu was the Chief Justice of the Kerala High Court.

He was appointed a judge of the Karnataka High Court Dec 18, 1995. Thereafter, he was elevated as Chief Justice of Chhattisgarh High Court Feb 12, 2007. Three months later May 18, 2007, he was transferred to head the Kerala High Court.

Born Dec 3, 1950, Chief Justice Dattu was enrolled as an advocate Oct 23, 1975. He practised at Bangalore in civil, criminal, constitutional and taxation matters.

Chief Justice Dattu appeared as government counsel in the Karnataka High court for the sales tax department from 1983 to 1990, government advocate from 1990 to 1993, standing counsel for the income tax department from 1992 to 1993 and a senior standing counsel for the IT department from 1993 to 1995.

Show Full Article
Next Story