Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
May that spark not be extinguished
access_time 2 Dec 2023 8:55 AM GMT
A Constitution always in the making
access_time 27 Nov 2023 11:43 AM GMT
Debunking myth of Israel’s existence
access_time 23 Oct 2023 7:01 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightAAP to set up new...

AAP to set up new Lokpal, disciplinary committee

AAP to set up new Lokpal, disciplinary committee

New Delhi: A day after it acted against dissident leaders Prashant Bhushan and Yogendra Yadav, the AAP on Sunday decided to set up a new internal Lokpal and a disciplinary committee.

The decision was taken at a meeting held at Delhi Chief Minister and Aam Aadmi Party leader Arvind Kejriwal's residence.

"We have taken four decisions. A new internal Lokpal consisting of three members and a disciplinary committee will be formed," party leader Pankaj Gupta told reporters.

Gupta said members of the Lokpal will be former police officers N.D. Kumar and Rakesh Sinha and educationist S.P. Verma. Their tenure will begin soon, he added.

"Party member Dinesh Vaghela will chair the three-member disciplinary committee. Asish Khaitan and myself will be the other members," Gupta said.

The decisions came a day after four party leaders, including Bhushan and Yadav, were expelled from its National Executive.

Gupta also said that AAP members would "gherao" (lay siege to) parliament on April 22 to protest the land acquisition bill. "A six-member committee has been formed to execute the 'gherao'."

A new panel headed by Sanjay Singh will analyse the party's state of affairs in states. "The work will be basically to oversee the funding and coordination issues."

The panel will also look after issues like problems of booth level volunteers and the party's political status in states.

"The committee will decide the party's agendas and future plans for the states."

Show Full Article
Next Story