Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
May that spark not be extinguished
access_time 2 Dec 2023 8:55 AM GMT
A Constitution always in the making
access_time 27 Nov 2023 11:43 AM GMT
Debunking myth of Israel’s existence
access_time 23 Oct 2023 7:01 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_right57% voting in first...

57% voting in first phase of Bihar poll, women voters outnumber men

57% voting in first phase of Bihar poll, women voters outnumber men

Patna: An estimated 57 per cent of the electorate cast their votes in the first phase of Bihar Assembly election in 49 constituencies which was violence-free note on Monday.

Women voters outnumbered men and the turnout on Monday is more than what it was in the last state poll in 2010 (all phases taken together.)

Overall, the voting percentage in the 2010 polling in Bihar was 50.85. The 49 seats, which went to poll on Monday, represents nearly 20 per cent of the overall 243 seats in the state, Chief Electoral Officer Ajay Nayak told reporters.

More voting was witnessed in all 10 districts in which the 49 seats were spread over, he said adding women voter turnout was more than the male in Monday's balloting.

While it was 59.5 per cent turnout for women on Monday, the male turout was 54.5 per cent, Nayak, accompanied by Additional Chief Electoral Officer R Lakhmanan, said.

Both of them said that the voting took place in a peaceful environment.

Though some complaints were received, including an attack on LJP candidate Vijay Singh at Jamui, but prima facie the complaints were not found true, Nayak said.

Giving details of voting in the districts, Nayak said Khagaria, which has seven Assembly constituencies, recorded the highest 61 per cent voting. Nawada having five seats saw relatively lowest voting percentage at 53, he said.

About other districts, he said Samastipur recorded 60 per cent voting, Begusarai 59 per cent, Bhagalpur 56 per cent, Banka 58 per cent, Munger 55 per cent, Lakhisarai 54 per cent, Sheikhpura 55 per cent and Jamui 57 per cent, all registering more voting than it was in last Assembly poll.

Show Full Article
Next Story