Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightSC asks former Uttar...

SC asks former Uttar Pradesh CMs to vacate accomodation

SC asks former Uttar Pradesh CMs to vacate accomodation

New Delhi: The Supreme Court on Monday directed six former Chief Ministers of Uttar Pradesh to vacate within two months the accommodation provided to them by the state government.

A bench headed by Justice Anil R. Dave said the former Chief Ministers have no right to occupy the premises which they must vacate.

The six former Chief Ministers are Kalyan Singh, Rajnath Singh, Mulayam Singh Yadav, Mayawati, Narayan Dutt Tiwari and Ram Naresh Yadav.

The bungalows occupied by the former Chief Ministers are located on Lucknow's posh Mall Road and Vikramaditya Marg.

The top court order came on a petition by NGO Lok Prahari challenging the validity of 1997 Ex-Chief Minister Allotment of Residence Rule.

Lok Prahari contended that that the rule was without statutory basis and in breach of Uttar Pradesh Minister Salaries, Allowances and other Facilities Act, 1981.

Show Full Article
Next Story