Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightCounting begins in...

Counting begins in Tamil Nadu, Puducherry assembly polls

Counting begins in Tamil Nadu, Puducherry assembly polls

Chennai: Ruling party candidates in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry shot into initial lead as counting of votes in the four assembly constituencies began on Tuesday.

Polls were held in three assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu - Thirupparankundram, Aravakkurichi and Thanjavur- and Nellithope constituency in Puducherry on November 19.

According to Election Commission in Thanjavur constituency AIADMK has shot into lead after two rounds of counting.

As per reports, AIADMK candidates in thirupparankundram and Aravakkurihchi seats too established lead.

Similarly in Puducherry, Chief Minister V. Narayanasamy has established lead over his nearest AIADMK rival.

In Aravakkurichi, ruling AIADMK's V. Senthil Balaji is fighting against the DMK's K. C. Palanisamy while at Thirupparankundram the AIADMK's A. K. Bose is facing DMK's P. Saravanan.

In Thanjavur, the AIADMK's M. Rengasamy is pitted against the DMK's Anjugam Bhoopathy.

In Thirupparankundram, the by-election has been necessitated by the death of AIADMK's legislator S. S. Seenivel.

While there are other parties in the fray, the contest is mainly between the AIADMK and the DMK in Tamil Nadu.

In Puducherry's Nellithope, Congress leader Narayanasamy is contesting against AIADMK nominee Om Shakthi Segar.

Show Full Article
Next Story