Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightAAP wins Delhi bypoll...

AAP wins Delhi bypoll by over 24,000 votes

AAP wins Delhi bypoll by over 24,000 votes

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Monday won the Bawana assembly bypoll here by a margin of over 24,000 votes, defeating former party legislator Ved Prakash who had defected to the BJP.

After the final round of counting, AAP candidate Ram Chandra got 59,886 votes against 35,834 votes of the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Ved Prakash. Congress candidate Surender Kumar got 31,919 votes, a poll official announced.

Percentage-wise, the winning candidate polled almost as many votes as the two other leading candidates combined.

The AAP candidate received 45.39 per cent of the total votes cast, while the BJP and Congress candidates got 27.16 and 24.19 per cent of the remaining votes.

While, 1.07 per cent of voters chose the ‘None of the Above’ (NOTA) option on August 23.

The by-poll was necessitated after Ved Prakash quit the AAP and resigned from the Delhi Assembly to join the BJP.

Show Full Article
Next Story