Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
May that spark not be extinguished
access_time 2 Dec 2023 8:55 AM GMT
A Constitution always in the making
access_time 27 Nov 2023 11:43 AM GMT
Debunking myth of Israel’s existence
access_time 23 Oct 2023 7:01 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightGovt declares 56,825...

Govt declares 56,825 sq km area in Western Ghats as eco-sensitive

Govt declares 56,825 sq km area in Western Ghats as eco-sensitive

New Delhi: The Environment Ministry has identified over 50,000 square kilometres, spread across six states in Western Ghats, as Ecologically Sensitive Area (ESA).

"In exercise of the powers conferred by section 3 of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 (29 of 1986)...the Central Government hereby notifies the identified area of 56,825 square kilometres, spread across six states, namely, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala and Tamil Nadu, as the Western Ghats Ecologically Sensitive Area," the draft notification said.

The notification was published in supersession of the earlier notification dated September 4, 2015.

"The notice is hereby given that the said draft notification shall be taken into consideration on or after the expiry of a period of sixty days from the date on which copies of the Gazette of India containing this notification are made available to the public," it said.

The ESA in Kerala is spread over an area of 9,993.7 square kilometres which include 9,107 square kilometres of forest area and 886.7 square kilometres of non-forest area.

The projects and activities to be prohibited or regulated in the eco-sensitive area include mining, no new construction of thermal power plants and buildings amongst others.

Show Full Article
Next Story