Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Geert Wilders
access_time 28 Nov 2023 4:50 AM GMT
Cusat tragedy: Let experience be a lesson
access_time 27 Nov 2023 4:00 AM GMT
A Constitution always in the making
access_time 27 Nov 2023 11:43 AM GMT
How long will the ceasefire last?
access_time 25 Nov 2023 5:56 AM GMT
The signal from Silkyara tunnel incident
access_time 24 Nov 2023 5:53 AM GMT
This mind-set needs treatment
access_time 23 Nov 2023 4:46 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
A Constitution always in the making
access_time 27 Nov 2023 11:43 AM GMT
Debunking myth of Israel’s existence
access_time 23 Oct 2023 7:01 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightAIADMK factions get...

AIADMK factions get 'Electric Pole', 'Cap'

AIADMK factions get Electric Pole, Cap

Chennai: The Election Commission on Thursday allotted the symbol "Electric Pole" to the AIADMK faction led by former Tamil Nadu Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam and the "Cap" to the ruling AIADMK group.

"We have been given 'Electric Pole' to fight the by-election from Radhakrishnan Nagar constituency. And our group will be called the 'AIADMK Puratchi Thalaivi Amma'," former MP K.C. Palaniswamy told IANS.

On the other hand, the AIADMK faction led by the now jailed General Secretary V.K. Sasikala has been given the "cap" symbol and would be known as "AIADMK Amma".

The ruling AIADMK split into two factions after the death of Chief Minister and party icon J. Jayalalithaa.

The allotment of the symbols is important as a by-election will be held on April 12 to the Tamil Nadu assembly from Radhakrishnan Nagar, which was represented by the late Jayalalithaa.

AIADMK Deputy General Secretary T.T.V. Dinakaran will contest in Radhakrishnan Nagar on behalf of the ruling party. The Panneerselvam faction has fielded E. Madhusudanan.

In an interim order on Wednesday night, the Election Commission froze the 'two leaves" symbol of the now divided AIADMK and ruled that neither faction will use the original party name in the by-election.

Show Full Article
Next Story