Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_right57.03% turnout in...

57.03% turnout in Ph-VI of UP Assembly polls

57.03% turnout in Ph-VI of UP Assembly polls

Lucknow: An estimated 57.03 per cent voters cast their ballots Sunday in the sixth phase of the Uttar Pradesh elections covering 49 Assembly seats, including Mau, where gangster-turned-politician Mukhtar Ansari is in the fray.

"The polling was approximately 57.03 per cent and passed off by and large peacefully," office of UP Chief Electoral Officer said here.

The polling percentage on these 49 seats was 55.04 in the 2012 state assembly polls.

The poll percentage in the first phase of the current state polls was 64.22. It was 65.16 in the second phase, 61.16 in the third phase, 60.37 in the fourth phase and 57.37 in the fifth phase.

Around 1.72 crore voters, including 94.60 lakh men and 77.84 lakh women, were eligible to cast their votes in today's round. A total of 635 candidates, including 63 women are in the fray in this phase.

Besides SP patron Mulayam Singh Yadav's Azamgarh being in focus, Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency of firebrand BJP leader Yogi Adityanath, and Mau, where jailed gangster-turned-MLA Mukhtar Ansari is in fray, also figured in the penultimate phase of polling. This phase also covered some districts bordering Nepal.

The districts where polling is going on in the sixth phase are Mau, Gorakhpur, Maharajganj, Kushinagar, Deoria, Azamgarh and Ballia.

Azamgarh Lok Sabha constituency has 10 assembly seats, of which SP had won nine in 2012, but this time Mulayam has not addressed a single meeting in his parliamentary constituency.

The prestige of Union minister Kalraj Mishra, who represents Deoria in the Lok Sabha, is also at stake in this phase of the crucial state polls.

BJP is contesting from 45 seats, while its ally Apna Dal is trying its luck in one seat in this phase.

Another BJP partner Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party is contesting from three seats. While BSP fielded candidates on all 49 seats, SP is contesting from 40 seats and Congress from nine seats under an alliance. .

Show Full Article
Next Story