Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Time out in the wrestlers protest
access_time 2 Jun 2023 5:15 AM GMT
When the school bell rings again
access_time 1 Jun 2023 12:13 PM GMT
Manipur strife should be stemmed
access_time 30 May 2023 4:23 AM GMT
Story, screenplay and direction: Hatred
access_time 29 May 2023 8:07 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightSixty seven per cent...

Sixty seven per cent votes cast in Manipur till 1 PM

Sixty seven per cent votes cast in Manipur till 1 PM

Imphal: Sixty-seven per cent votes were polled till 1 pm in the second and final phase of Manipur Assembly election Wednesday amid few incidents of violence.

"There were some incidents of violence in Tamenglong Assembly segment. But the incidents took place outside the polling booths. The police have taken appropriate action," Chief Electoral officer Vivek Kumar Dewangan told PTI.

Some cases of damaging of EVMs were reported in Chandel Assembly constituency but those EVMs were replaced with new ones within a short time, Dewangan said.

"The damaging of EVMs will not damage the chips inside the EVMs and the votes polled will not be affected. So there is nothing to worry as we have replaced them with new EVMs," the CEO said.

Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh, who is contesting from Thoubal seat, cast his vote at a polling booth in Khangabok Assembly constituency at 7.15 am.

The Chief Minister's son, Okram Surjakumar, who is contesting the Assembly elections for the first time from Khangabok constituency, also cast his vote at around 7.30 am

Ninety-eight candidates, including rights activist Irom Sharmila, are in the fray in this phase.

Sharmila is pitted against the Chief Minister in Thoubal Assembly seat.

Polling which began at 7 am will end at 3 pm in 22 Assembly constituencies spread over the valley district of Thoubal and the hill districts of Ukhrul, Chandel, Tamenglong and Senapati.

The first phase polling to the 60-member Assembly was held on March 4 last.

Show Full Article
Next Story