Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Time out in the wrestlers protest
access_time 2 Jun 2023 5:15 AM GMT
When the school bell rings again
access_time 1 Jun 2023 12:13 PM GMT
Manipur strife should be stemmed
access_time 30 May 2023 4:23 AM GMT
Story, screenplay and direction: Hatred
access_time 29 May 2023 8:07 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightEC verdict: Nitish...

EC verdict: Nitish wins battle for control of JD(U)

EC verdict: Nitish wins battle for control of JD(U)

New Delhi: In a big win for Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, the Election Commission Friday recognised the group led by him as the Janata Dal (United), rejecting the claim of the Sharad Yadav faction over the party's name and election symbol.

Kumar and Yadav parted ways after the former decided to join hands with the BJP in July, triggering a battle for the control of the party.

Yadav claimed that by ending the alliance with Lalu Prasad Yadav's RJD and deserting the greater 'grand alliance', Kumar had gone against the party's national executive's decision to oppose the BJP.

As the rift between the two widened, Yadav held a 'national executive' of the JD(U) here where Chhotubhai Amarsang Vasava was appointed as the acting president.

Vasava approached the Election Commission staking claim over the party and its poll symbol 'arrow'. Yadav all along maintained that the faction led by him was the real JD(U).

The EC, in its order issued today, said the group led by Kumar "has demonstrated overwhelming majority support" in the legislature wing as well as the majority in the national council of the party, which is the apex organisational body of the JD(U).

"The group led by Nitish Kumar is hereby recognised as the Janata Dal (United)...Consequently, the group led by Nitish Kumar is entitled to use the reserved symbol 'Arrow' of the party as a recognised State Party in Bihar," the order read.

The two factions sought an early decision from the poll panel, noting that they wanted to contest next month's Gujarat Assembly polls using the 'arrow' symbol.

Show Full Article
Next Story