Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
bengal politics
access_time 2021-04-10T15:31:56+05:30
Varanasi follows Ayodhyas lead
access_time 2021-04-10T11:16:48+05:30
Why is no one talking about Rafale?
access_time 2021-04-09T11:27:04+05:30
No more bloodshed; not any more
access_time 2021-04-08T19:28:29+05:30
A life that enriched the society
access_time 2021-04-07T11:40:02+05:30
Towards a digital emergency?
access_time 2021-02-27T14:50:41+05:30
The slaughter of democracy in Puducherry
access_time 2021-02-24T11:27:21+05:30
Populist Fascism
access_time 2021-01-31T17:19:29+05:30
Media Freedom
access_time 2021-01-31T15:47:07+05:30
Sharjeel Imam
access_time 2021-01-30T15:19:40+05:30
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightJoshi denied ticket,...

Joshi denied ticket, seats of Maneka, Varun swapped

Joshi denied ticket, seats of Maneka, Varun swapped

New Delhi: The BJP on Tuesday denied ticket to veteran leader Murli Manohar Joshi from Kanpur and fielded Uttar Pradesh Minister Satyadev Pachauri in his place.

A list issued by the Bharatiya Janata Party included 29 candidates from Uttar Pradesh and 10 from West Bengal.

The party swapped the seats of Union Minister Maneka Gandhi and her son Varun Gandhi. Varun Gandhi will now contest from Pilibhit and Maneka Gandhi from Sultanpur.

The party has fielded Jaya Prada, who joined the BJP on Tuesday, against Samajwadi Party leader Azam Khan in Rampur.

Another Minister in the Yogi government, Rita Bahuguna Joshi, will contest from Allahabad. Shyama Charan Gupta, the outgoing BJP MP from Allahabad, recently joined the Samajwadi Party.

Minister of State for Railways Manoj Sinha has retained his Gazipur seat.

In West Bengal, the party has fielded Humayun Kabir from Murshidabad and Joy Banerjee from Uluberia.

Show Full Article
News Summary - Joshi denied ticket, seats of Maneka, Varun swapped
Next Story