Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Two mind-sets: one here,  the other there
access_time 2021-01-20T13:57:46+05:30
What is Halal? Market strategies and controversy
access_time 2021-01-19T15:54:19+05:30
Arnabs chats cannot be ignored
access_time 2021-01-18T11:33:12+05:30
Women and girls need to be safe
access_time 2021-01-15T15:08:45+05:30
DEEP READAll arrow_drop_down
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightSetback for TRS in...

Setback for TRS in Legislative Council polls

Setback for TRS in Legislative Council polls

Hyderabad: Ruling TRS in Telangana received a setback with the party backed candidates losing elections to three seats of the Legislative Council.

Two outgoing members of the upper house of the state legislature were among the candidates who lost the elections.

Senior Congress leader and former Minister T. Jeevan Reddy was declared elected from Karimnagar-Adilabad-Nizamabad-Medak graduates constituency as the counting of ballots ended in the early hours of Wednesday.

Jeevan Reddy, who was defeated in Assembly elections, trounced his nearest rival Chandrashekhar Goud of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) by a margin of 39,430 votes.

K. Raghotham Reddy of Progressive Recognised Teachers' Union (PRTU), supported by the Congress, won Karimnagar-Adilabad-Nizamabad-Medak teachers constituency. He defeated former Member of Legislative Council (MLC) Paturi Sudhakar Reddy, backed by the TRS.

TRS supported candidate and former MLC P. Ravinder was also defeated in Nalgonda-Khammam-Warangal teachers constituency. United Teachers' Federation (UTF) candidate A. Narsireddy, supported by the Congress and the CPI, won the seat.

Polling for these seats were held on March 22.



Show Full Article
Web Title - Setback for TRS in Legislative Council polls
Next Story