Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
May that spark not be extinguished
access_time 2 Dec 2023 8:55 AM GMT
A Constitution always in the making
access_time 27 Nov 2023 11:43 AM GMT
Debunking myth of Israel’s existence
access_time 23 Oct 2023 7:01 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightCPI(ML) reciprocates...

CPI(ML) reciprocates RJDs gesture; gives up Misa’s Pataliputra


Patna: The CPI(Ml) Liberation on Friday announced that it would not field its candidate from Pataliputra Lok Sabha seat, from where Lalu Prasads eldest daughter Misa Bharti is in the fray, as a gesture of reciprocation to the RJD which has left out Ara in favour of the ultra-Left party.

In a statement issued here, the partys state secretary Kunal, however, made it clear that it would be fielding its candidates from Siwan, Karakat and Jehanabad and support the CPI and CPI(M) in Begusarai and Ujiarpur where candidates of the Mahagathbandhan of which the RJD is the largest constituent are in the fray.

The CPI(ML) has already announced candidature of Raju Yadav, a former state president of AISA, from Ara  formerly a hotbed of the naxal movement  and candidates for the remaining three seats would be announced at the partys state-level convention on April 02, Kunal added.

In Siwan, the CPI(ML) has for long been engaged in an ideological and political battle with the RJD which intensified in the wake of the murder of former JNU students union president Chandrashekhar allegedly by goons of local MP Mohd Shahabuddin.

The RJD has fielded Hina Shahab, wife of Shahabuddin who is in jail, from Siwan.

The Karakat seat has gone to former Union minister Upendra Kushwahas RLSP. It is Kushwahas sitting seat, carved out of naxal-infested regions of central Bihar districts like Aurangabad and Rohtas.

Jehanabad, yet another naxal hotbed which used to be in headlines in the 1990s for massacres by outlawed ultra-Left outfits and private militias seeking to wipe these out, has RJD strongman Surendra Yadav in the fray.

Former JNU students union president Kanhaiya Kumar is the CPI candidate in Begusarai where the RJD has fielded Tanveer Hasan while Ajay Kumar is the CPI(M) nominee in Ujiarpur  the sitting seat of state BJP president Nityanand Rai which has fallen into the RLSPs kitty though the candidate for the same is yet to be announced.

Till about a year ago, the Mahagathbandhan  which then comprised only the RJD, the Congress and former Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhis HAM  was thinking in terms of an electoral understanding with the Left parties.

This, however, did not materialize as the bloated formation which now comprises half a dozen parties including late entrants like RLSP, HAM and LJD, was not left with enough seats to spare for the Left after accommodating all allies.

Show Full Article
News Summary - CPI(ML) reciprocates RJDs gesture; gives up Misa’s Pataliputra
Next Story