Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Women and girls need to be safe
access_time 2021-01-15T15:08:45+05:30
Another Trump impeachment
access_time 2021-01-15T11:16:29+05:30
Covid 19 spread
access_time 2021-01-14T15:40:30+05:30
Freezing the Centre or the farmer protest?
access_time 2021-01-14T12:55:08+05:30
DEEP READAll arrow_drop_down
Anti-Conversion Law: A law meant for abuse
access_time 2021-01-12T13:56:35+05:30
Syed Shahriyaar
access_time 2021-01-05T19:08:46+05:30
Reading A week in the life of Svitlana
access_time 2020-12-23T12:06:42+05:30
Hum Dekhenge- One year of Anti-CAA protests
access_time 2020-12-22T17:35:06+05:30
The French Fanatic and the Fanatic Fringe
access_time 2020-11-02T15:56:00+05:30
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightMadhya Pradesh votes...

Madhya Pradesh votes for 8 Lok Sabha seats

Madhya Pradesh votes for 8 Lok Sabha seats

Bhopal: Voting was underway in Morena, Bhind, Gwalior, Guna, Sagar, Vidisha, Bhopal and Rajgarh Lok Sabha constituencies in Madhya Pradesh on Sunday, with the Congress and the BJP being the main contestants.

The state poses a major challenge to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as it had lost power after 15 years in Assembly elections last year. There are 138 candidates and 1.44 crore voters in Sunday's exercise.

Voting began at 7 a.m. and will end at 6 p.m.

The issues of farm and rural distress are dominant. The constituency of Bhopal is the most keenly watched as former Chief Minister Digvijaya Singh of the Congress is in the fray against Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur of BJP who is an accused in the 2008 Malegaon blast case.

In Guna, Jyotiraditya Scindia from Congress is seeking another term. He has been representing this Lok Sabha seat in Parliament since 2002. He is up against K.P. Yadav from the BJP. Yadav was Scindia's aide till January 2018.

The Morena, the birthplace of former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, a BJP stronghold, the party has fielded Narendra Singh Tomar against Congress' Ram Niwas Rawat.

Sandhya Rai of BJP is pitted against Devasish Jararia of Congress from Bhind. Vivek Sejwalkar of BJP is taking on Ashok Singh of Congress in Gwalior.


Show Full Article
Web Title - Madhya Pradesh votes for 8 Lok Sabha seats
Next Story