Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
    Going beyond birthday celebration
    access_time 18 Sep 2020 6:05 AM GMT
    Periyar@142-Revolutionary and Visionary
    access_time 17 Sep 2020 11:57 AM GMT
    The word of caution from the highest court
    access_time 17 Sep 2020 6:31 AM GMT
    access_time 16 Sep 2020 5:58 AM GMT
    access_time 15 Sep 2020 6:19 AM GMT
    DEEP READAll arrow_drop_down
    The ogres in the mind
    access_time 8 Sep 2020 11:27 AM GMT
    Why worry about populism?
    access_time 4 Sep 2020 9:51 AM GMT
    Media mind-set towards minorities
    access_time 15 July 2020 4:29 PM GMT
    Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightVoting underway for 7...

    Voting underway for 7 Lok Sabha seats in MP

    Voting underway for 7 Lok Sabha seats in MP

    Bhopal: Voting was underway on Monday for the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in Madhya Pradesh along with 44 other constituencies across seven states in the fifth of the mega seven-phase electoral exercise.

    Voting began at 7 a.m. for the Tikamgarh, Damoh, Khajuraho, Satna, Rewa, Hoshangabad and Betul seats in the second phase of elections in the state. Voting was held at six of the 29 seats in state's the first phase of polling on April 29. 

    In the 2014 polls, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had secured all the seven seats. 

    The fate of 110 candidates, including nine women, is being decided by the 1.19 crore voters in these constituencies. Of the total electors, there are over 62 lakh men, 56 lakh women and 235 others. 

    The state is witnessing Minister of State for Minority Affairs Virendra Kumar, the sitting BJP MP from Tikamgarh pitted against Congress' Kiran Ahirwar. 

    A total of 67,000 electoral employees have been deputed to conduct peaceful elections. A total of 85 companies -- each having around 100 personnel -- of Central security forces and 45 of state armed force have also been deployed. 

    Besides, at least over 50,000 personnel, including Home Guards and district police force, have been deployed in the state. 

    Election Commission (EC) in the state has set up control rooms to solve the complaints of electorates expeditiously. The control room has been working round the clock. 



    Show Full Article
    Next Story