Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Time out in the wrestlers protest
access_time 2 Jun 2023 5:15 AM GMT
When the school bell rings again
access_time 1 Jun 2023 12:13 PM GMT
Manipur strife should be stemmed
access_time 30 May 2023 4:23 AM GMT
Story, screenplay and direction: Hatred
access_time 29 May 2023 8:07 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightCong releases names of...

Cong releases names of 19 Maharashtra candidates, Nirupam upset

Cong releases names of 19 Maharashtra candidates, Nirupam upset

New Delhi: Amid a threat by senior Congress leader Sanjay Nirupam to quit the party, the Congress released the names of candidates for the remaining 19 seats.

The party has replaced candidates for Nandurbar and Sillod Assembly seats. While in Nandurbar, it has replaced Mohan Pawan Singh with Udesingh K Padvi, in Sillod, Khaiser Azad has replaced Prabhakar Manikrao Palodkar.

The party has nominated Anand Shukla from Ghatkopar West and Sajid Khan from Akola West.

Meanwhile, a sulking Nirupam announced that he would address the media on Friday at 11 a.m. in Mumbai. He had earlier tweeted: "It seems the Congress Party doesn't want my services anymore. I had recommended just one name in Mumbai for Assembly election. Heard that even that has been rejected. As I had told the leadership earlier, in that case I will not participate in poll campaign. It's my final decision ".

Later, he added it was not the time to quit.

The party has fielded two former Chief Ministers -- Prithviraj Chavan from Karad South and Ashok Chavan from Bhokar. Maharashtra will go to polls on October 21. The Congress is contesting 125 seats of the 288-member Assembly.


Show Full Article
News Summary - Cong releases names of 19 Maharashtra candidates, Nirupam upset
Next Story