Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Geert Wilders
access_time 28 Nov 2023 4:50 AM GMT
Cusat tragedy: Let experience be a lesson
access_time 27 Nov 2023 4:00 AM GMT
A Constitution always in the making
access_time 27 Nov 2023 11:43 AM GMT
How long will the ceasefire last?
access_time 25 Nov 2023 5:56 AM GMT
The signal from Silkyara tunnel incident
access_time 24 Nov 2023 5:53 AM GMT
This mind-set needs treatment
access_time 23 Nov 2023 4:46 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
A Constitution always in the making
access_time 27 Nov 2023 11:43 AM GMT
Debunking myth of Israel’s existence
access_time 23 Oct 2023 7:01 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_rightCricketchevron_rightAjit Agarkar appointed...

Ajit Agarkar appointed by BCCI as chairman of senior men's selection committee

Ajit Agarkar appointed by BCCI as chairman of senior mens selection committee

New Delhi: On the advice of the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), former India bowler Ajit Agarkar has been named chairman of the senior men's selection panel, BCCI secretary Jay Shah announced on Tuesday.

"The Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), consisting of Ms Sulakshana Naik, Mr Ashok Malhotra, and Mr Jatin Paranjape, interviewed applicants for the position of one selector in the Men's Selection Committee. The three-member CAC has unanimously recommended Mr Ajit Agarkar for the said position," Shah said in a media release.

"The committee further recommended Mr Agarkar for the role of Chairperson of the Men's Selection Committee based on seniority (total number of Test matches)." Agarkar has played 191 ODIs apart from 26 Tests and 4 T20Is. He was a part of the 1999, 2003 and 2007 ODI World Cup squad and also featured in the 2007 World T20-winning Indian team.

He has a Test hundred at Lord's and played a big part in India's Test victory in Australia, back in 2004, with a six-wicket haul in an Adelaide game.

He still holds the record for the fastest half-century by an Indian batter in ODI, achieved with a 21-ball fifty against Zimbabwe in 2000. He also held the record for being the fastest to reach 50 ODI wickets for nearly a decade, accomplishing the milestone in just 23 matches.

Agarkar is expected to get a better remuneration compared to the current paycheck of Rs 1 crore earmarked for the chairman of selectors. The remaining members of the committee get Rs 90 lakh each.

It is understood that BCCI wants to get done with the formality of appointment as Agarkar, after taking over, will chair the selection committee meeting for the T20I squad that will play five games in the West Indies later this week.

"Agarkar is the only candidate who appeared for interview. It was a virtual one as he is currently abroad on a family break," a BCCI source said.

According to sources, there aren't any notable name from North Zone, who is big enough in stature to take over the coveted post.

That is the reason why BCCI will be breaking its age-old convention of appointing one selector from each of the five zones.

Agarkar's appointment will mean that West Zone will have two selectors with Salil Ankola being the other one. The others are Subroto Banerjee from Central Zone, S Sharath from South and SS Das from East.

With PTI inputs

Show Full Article
TAGS:BCCIAjit AgarkarSelection committee
Next Story