Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
May that spark not be extinguished
access_time 2 Dec 2023 8:55 AM GMT
A Constitution always in the making
access_time 27 Nov 2023 11:43 AM GMT
Debunking myth of Israel’s existence
access_time 23 Oct 2023 7:01 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_rightCricketchevron_rightAsia Cup: Axar to...

Asia Cup: Axar to replace injured Jadeja rest of the tournament

Asia Cup: Axar to replace injured Jadeja rest of the tournament

Mumbai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Friday that Indian star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja was ruled out for the remainder of the Asia Cup due to a right knee injury. BCCI medical team is monitoring Jadeja at the moment, NDTV reported.

Replacing Jadeja, BCCI named Axar Patel to play his role during the rest of the tournament. Axar was a standby player earlier and is to join the team soon.

In a statement, BCCI said that the All-India Senior Selection Committee selected Axar and briefed that Jadeja, who played in the squad against group stage matches against Pakistan and Hong Kong, sustained the injury. Axar will fly to Dubai soon, BCCI added.

Jadeja had shown pure mettle against the tight-wound match against Pakistan to shore up India with a 35 though he got out just before the victory. His contribution with the bat that day was priceless for India though his bowling spell was wicket-less.

India's next match will be on Sunday, the Super 4 stage, against either Pakistan or Hong Kong.

India's squad for Asia Cup:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Show Full Article
TAGS:cricketAxar PatelIndiaRavindra JadejaAsia Cup 2022
Next Story